Can Employers Force You To Submit To A Covid-19 Test?

If you’re confused about what your employer can and can’t require of you during this pandemic, you’re not alone. Every other day it seems like some new rules and requirements and expectations seem to intrude on our rights. In many cases, getting a straight answer feels impossible.

Finding out if you have to submit for a COVID-19 test each time you go to work is a perfect example of how many people don’t know what they can and can’t fight. Some lawyers freely admit that they’re not sure how legal this topic is. For a long time, it was common knowledge that employers couldn’t legally require employees to undergo any medical examination that didn’t directly impact their work. COVID-19 has changed things.

Based on what the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission has stated, it’s likely that you do have to adhere to your employer’s wishes and be screened for COVID-19. The catch is that when your employer requires that you get the test, they have to do so in a way that stays in line with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Your employer isn’t allowed to simply declare that you take a COVID-19 test. There are some strict rules that they have to follow. These rules include:

  • Adhering to both federal and California confidentiality laws.
  • Stick to reliable tests.
  • Understand the possibility of false/positive and false/negative tests and have a plan of action in place.

But what happens if the test comes back positive? You’ll have to socially distance which means you can no longer go to work. If working from home isn’t an option, how are you supposed to pay your bills for the two or more weeks you aren’t working?

The good news is that the government has taken the steps needed to make sure you don’t lose your home during this period. If you have to take sick leave because you’ve tested positive for COVID-19, the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA or Act) stipulates that provided you meet certain criteria, your employer must pay you, provided you’ve tested positive. In many cases, your employer only has to pay for 2 weeks of sick leave. If you have worked for your current employer for at least 30 days and have a genuine inability to work due to caring for a child during the pandemic, you’re entitled to a 10-week leave of absence at 2/3s of your regular salary. Some employers who employ less than 50 employees are exempt from the required sick pay for COVID-19 victims.

If you start feeling unwell or were exposed to COVID-19 it’s in your best interest to talk to your employer and try to find a solution that keeps everyone safe.

 

COVID-19 In California Workplace

COVID-19 In California Workplace

It shouldn’t come as a surprise that one of the first things to change in California during 2021 is how workplaces report COVID-19 outbreaks.

Way back in the middle of September 2020, California’s governor signed off on a law, AB 685, that tweaks the way workplaces notify their employees and customers about COVID-19. The law officially went into effect on January 1, 2021.

The new law requires that employers must provide a written alert to everyone involved in the business, including sub-contractors, whenever the employer learns that there was a chance of COVID-19 exposure. The written notification has to be drafted and sent to all pertinent parties within one business day of the positive test results. In addition to serving as an alert warning of possible exposure to the virus, the written notice should also include information about what benefits those who were exposed are entitled to and information about what the employer intends to do to clean the workplace and minimize the risk of future problems with COVID-19.

The most interesting thing about the new law is that the employer must make the written notification available for a full three years following the COVID-19 exposure.

The employer’s responsibilities don’t end after they’ve completed the written notification. That’s just the first step. If three (or more) employees test positive for COVID-19, it’s considered an outbreak. The next thing the employer must do is contact their local health agency. This contact must take place within 48 hours of the positive test. The information the public health department collects includes the names of the infected employees, their occupations, and the places where they worked.

What happens if an employer fails to go through with the protocol established by AB 685?

Well, that’s not entirely clear. The law does mention that the employer will receive a citation: “The division shall enforce paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of subdivision (a) by the issuance of a citation alleging a violation of these paragraphs and a notice of civil penalty in a manner consistent with Section 6317.”

The problem is that no one knows exactly what the citation is or how it will impact the employer. It’s unclear if they will face a fine or lose their business license. When you read through the law, you do learn that if the Health Department issues a citation, the employer does have the right to a trial during which they’re allowed to argue their case.

This new 2021 law impacts all employers, no matter how many employees they hire.

 

Need Bail? We Offer A 20% Discount!

Need Bail? We Offer A 20% Discount!

No one plans on needing bail money. It’s not the type of expense that anyone builds into their monthly budget. So, when the worse happens and you do suddenly find yourself in need of bail, figuring out where to get the money can be challenging. Especially since in many cases, the amount of money needed for bail is substantial.

The good news is Bail Bonds in Martinez can help.

We are a family-owned bail bond company with a long and positive history of working with jails and courts in all of California. We have a program in place that makes bail a little more affordable for you.

Affordable Bail

Typically, we charge you a fee that adds up to 10% of the bail amount needed. Obviously, that’s substantially less than the whole amount, but it can still be more than many people can afford. We get it. Times are tough. Money is tight. That’s why we’ve created programs designed to eliminate the strain bail places on your financial situation.

The 20% Discount

The first thing we do is look to see if you qualify for our 20% discount. The odds are pretty high that you’ll qualify for this discount. It’s offered to anyone who is:

  • A member of the military
  • A homeowner
  • An AARP member
  • Have a private attorney

Not sure if you qualify? Contact us for a FREE consultation and find out!

Additional Payment Plans

Don’t get discouraged if you’re one of the few who doesn’t qualify for a 20% bail discount. We have other payment programs that are designed to ease the financial burden. These include:

  • No collateral for working signers
  • Zero Interest Payments
  • Affordable payment plans

We understand exactly how much stress you’re currently experiencing as you worry about the future. We don’t think that you should also have to worry about how you’re supposed to afford groceries after you’ve covered your bail bill.

Contact Us For Reliable Bail Help

At Bail Bonds in Martinez, we promise that we’re not the scary bail agents you see represented on television. We’re a kind, friendly, compassionate bail bond company that wants nothing more than to help you through this trying time.

The best way to get to know more about us, our services, and our 20% bail discount is by contacting us for a FREE, no obligation consultation. We’ll answer all your bail-related questions and put your mind at ease.

For a discrete and compassionate bail experience, call Bail Bonds in Martinez at 925-228-5858 or click Talk To An Agent Now to chat.

 

Don’t Let A Thing Like State Lines Deter You From Bailing Out A Loved One

You Can Still Act Quickly

When you get a late-night phone call from a loved one where they ask you to help out with bail, it’s natural to want to agree. Most friends and family members do. However, some people don’t find out until they’ve offered to help that the loved one was arrested in an entirely different state, making bailing them out difficult.

While helping with bail is difficult especially when you’re in one state and your arrested loved one is in a different one, it is not impossible. Everyone involved in the process has to understand that geographical distance does require some research and will slow things down a bit.

The first thing you need to do is research the area where your loved one is incarcerated. Subtle laws that can influence the bail process that you will need to familiarize yourself with. At this point, it’s okay to contact a lawyer, legal aid office, or a bail bond company for help. The better you understand local regulations, the less stressful the entire process is.

The second thing you need to do is simpler. All that is required is gathering up vital information about the loved one you are trying to bail out of jail.

The information you need includes:

  • The jail where they’re being held.
  • Their date of birth.
  • The charges filed against them.
  • The arresting agency.
  • The amount of bail needed.
  • Your loved one’s booking number.

At this point, it is important that you connect with a bail bond company that’s familiar with the jail where you’re loved one is currently being held. The bail bond company will tell you what you need, they will assist with the bail bond process, and make sure your loved one understands all the terms connected to their release. Most importantly, a good, local bail bond company will ensure that you’re loved one is released as quickly as possible.

If you find yourself in need of bail anywhere in California, it’s in your best interest to contact Bail Bonds in Concord. We are one of the most trusted bail bond company in the state. Our services include:

  • 24/7 Bail Bond Service
  • FREE Consultation
  • 20% Discount
  • 0% Interest Payment Plans
  • Over the Phone Approvals
  • No Hidden Fees
  • No Collateral with Working Co-Signer
  • Easy to Understand Contracts
  • Discrete Service
  • Se habla Español

Consultation is FREE, so call us today! The sooner you call, the sooner we can start the bail bond process. We promise, we won’t let you down.

You can reach Bail Bonds in Concord at 925-228-5858 or click Talk To An Agent Now to chat.

 

Tips For Successfully Bailing Your Adult Child Out Of Jail

Concord Bail Bonds

Our instincts are to do whatever it takes to help out our children. Those instincts don’t go away when they become adults. On the other hand, there is also a time when we want them to fully understand that their actions have consequences and that we can’t do everything for them.

Learning that your adult child has been arrested often pits the two sides of our parental urges against one another.One of the first things you have to decide after learning your adult child has been arrested is if you’re going to bail them out of jail.

Give Yourself Some Time To Think

Don’t automatically tell your adult child that you’re going to handle their bail. Give yourself some time to think about the situation and decide what is best for both you and them. Issues to consider when you have an adult child who wants to be bailed out of jail include:

  • If they’re likely to stick to their bail arrangements.
  • They’re criminal history.
  • If they have their own family to support.
  • How big a financial burden the cost of bail will put on you.
  • If you’re confident that they’ll make all of their court dates.

If, after carefully considering all the pros and cons of bailing your adult child out of jail, it’s time to figure out the best way to go about doing so.

Can Your Finances Handle The Strain Of Bail?

Deciding to bail your adult child out of jail is just the first step. The second is figuring out how to cover the cost of bail. It can add up to a lot of money. The good news is that as long as your child makes all of their court dates, you’ll eventually get your money back from the court. The bad news is that the process usually takes several months.

Can You Afford To Be Without That Money For That Long?

If the answer is no, you’ll want to contact Bail Bonds in San Ramon.

How We Can Help You Bail Your Adult Child Out Of Jail

Posting bail for your adult child shouldn’t put you in a position where you’re unable to pay your own rent or buy groceries. You didn’t make a mistake so you shouldn’t be forced to make major sacrifices. If you can’t handle the expense of your child’s bail and stay on top of your own bills, it’s in your best interest to contact Bail Bonds in San Ramon for a FREE bail consultation. We’re a family-owned bail bond company that has a long history of serving California.

Should you decide to use our services rather than dipping into your own pocket for the full bail amount, you’ll only have to come up with 10% of the bail. We’ll take care of the rest. It is important to note that the 10% is our fee, you won’t get that back. Before you sign a contract, have a frank discussion with your adult child about the 10%. Decide if you’re willing to absorb the cost or if you want your child to reimburse you. If you want reimbursement, there is nothing wrong with creating a contract that clearly outlines your expectations for your adult child.

If you decide to use Bail Bonds in San Ramon to help bail your adult child out of jail, you’ll enjoy:

  • 24/7 Bail Bond Service
  • FREE Consultation
  • 20% Discount
  • 0% Interest Payment Plans
  • Over the Phone Approvals
  • No Hidden Fees
  • No Collateral with Working Co-Signer
  • Easy to Understand Contracts
  • Discrete Service
  • Se habla Español

When you need our help bailing your adult child out of jail, don’t hesitate to contact us. With us on your side, you can rest easy knowing that you’re in good hands.

Contact Bail Bonds in San Ramon and get your FREE consultation at 925-228-5858 or click Talk To An Agent Now to chat.

What Happens If You Fail To Appear In Court

Bail Bond Store in Martinez

You’ve been charged with some sort of crime and now you’re out on bail with a court date rapidly approaching. It’s natural to wonder what will happen if you simply don’t show up.

The problem with failing to appear in court is that not showing up doesn’t make all of your legal problems go away. The charges won’t be dropped. All you’ve accomplished is delaying the final outcome.

At Bail Bonds in Antioch, as a bail bond company with several decades worth of experience, we strongly discourage this action. If too many people fail to appear in court, the bail system as we know it will fall apart. The whole idea of bail is to provide people with an opportunity to work and care for their families while they wait out the legal system.

If you’re out on a bail bond and fail to appear in court, we have no choice but to make sure you do appear. We will send a person to find you and bring you back to jail. If we’re unable to find you, you’ll sacrifice anything you used as collateral when you secured your bail bond.

Failing to appear in the court means more than simply subjecting yourself to the embarrassment of having an Bail Bonds in Antioch recovery agent showing up at your home or place of work. It also means that most bail bond companies will be gunshy about posting your bail ever again. In addition to whatever charges you were already dealing with, you’ll also be charged with failure to appear, which can result in:

  • The court charging a $1,000 fine.
  • Spending up to 6-months in jail.
  • Suspension of your driver’s license.

A failure to appear in court charge is easy to avoid. All you have to do is show up.

If you or a loved one has been arrested and needs help with bail, contacting Bail Bonds in Antioch is your best course of action. We are a family-owned bail bond company since 1987. We have an outstanding reputation for providing both compassionate customer service and zero interest bail bonds in California.

We offer:

  • 24/7 Bail Bond Service
  • FREE Consultation
  • 20% Discount
  • 0% Interest Payment Plans
  • Over the Phone Approvals
  • No Hidden Fees
  • No Collateral with Working Co-Signer
  • Easy to Understand Contracts
  • Discrete Service
  • Se habla Español

The sooner you contact Bail Bonds in Antioch, the sooner we can start working to secure your release from jail. Call us today and get your FREE consultation.

You can reach Bail Bonds in Antioch by calling 925-228-5858 or click Talk To An Agent Now to chat.

The Legal Ins And Outs Of Internet Trolling

The Legal Ins And Outs Of Internet Trolling

The internet, particularly social media sites, provide people with an opportunity to share their opinions on a variety of topics. In many cases, this leads to a lively and thought-provoking debate. At other times, it brings out internet trolls.

What Is Internet Trolling?

An internet troll is someone who jumps into an online conversation and promptly starts making inflammatory, derogative, and infuriating comments. In most cases, the individual doesn’t want to contribute to the conversation, but simply wants to trigger an emotional response. Sometimes the troll focuses their attention on a particular subject matter. Other times, the troll focuses on a single individual or group. Today, internet trolling is considered malicious and a form of bullying.

Signs that a commenter is an internet troll include:

  • They make remarks that have nothing to do with the original topic.
  • They’re unable to handle actual facts (they’ll either ignore them or cry fake news).
  • They have a belligerent tone and make condescending, dismissive remarks.
  • They make the same comment over and over again on multiple posts.

Internet trolling isn’t limited to a handful of people. A recent survey revealed that 28% of Americans have perpetrated an internet trolling incident.

How California Views Internet Trolling

From a legal standpoint, internet trolling is complicated. As a rule, behaving like a jerk and irritating people with online comments isn’t a crime. The problem lawmakers face is that on several occasions, internet trolls have crossed a line and become internet bullies. As soon as the line is crossed, the issue becomes a legal matter.

An internet troll will find themselves in hot legal water when they:

  • Start posting harmful material along with their comments.
  • They actively encourage others to join in the harassment of the original poster/group.
  • They violate California’s cyberstalking laws.
  • Instead of just making comments, they move on to sending harassing comments to the original poster via text messages, emails, or phone calls.
  • They start making criminal threats.

Many internet trolls believe that the First Amendment allows them to say whatever they want. While it’s true that the First Amendment does grant everyone the right to free speech, it’s important to understand that there are limitations to free speech.

Several First Amendment cases have reached the U.S. Supreme Court where the legal groundwork was laid to allow individuals who make obscene and deliberately false statements to be prosecuted by the law. The same is true for comments that are designed to trigger a severely violent or emotional response. While cases that are directly connected to cyberbullying and internet trolling haven’t yet reached the U.S. Supreme Court, many feel it is only a matter of time before the justices hear a case that helps set a legal standard for cyberbullying and trolling.

 

What Happens When You Bounce A Check In California

What Happens When You Bounce A Check In California

We all make mistakes. One of the mistakes that many of us have made at one time or another is not checking our account before writing a check. As a result, the check bounces and you face a series of problems.

The good news is that in most cases, the consequences of writing a bad check aren’t horrible. The person/business you wrote the check to contacts you. You’re embarrassed but cover the amount of the check plus whatever fee the business attaches to the returned check. There’s also a chance that your bank will charge you an overdraft fee. Once you’ve covered all of these costs, you can stop worrying about the matter and get on with your life.

In some extreme cases, the legal system gets involved.

Check fraud is covered by California’s Penal Code 476 PC. According to the law, you can be charged with check fraud whenever you do something with a check that leads the person who is receiving the check that they believe is good.

You can be charged with check fraud if you:

  • Write a check even when you know there aren’t sufficient funds in your account.
  • Create checks for an account that doesn’t exist.
  • Alter the routing or account number on a check.
  • Writing checks for an account you don’t own.
  • Altering the amount written on a check.

Check fraud is another one of California’s wobbler laws. If the amount of check fraud doesn’t exceed $950, you’ll only face misdemeanor charges. A conviction can result in a sentence that could include:

  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • A maximum of one year in county jail
  • Restitution

If the amount of the check fraud exceeds $950, you can be charged with a felony. The consequences of felony check fraud in California can include:

  • One year in county jail
  • Probation
  • Restitution
  • As much as $10,000 in fines

It’s important to understand that to be found guilty of check fraud in California, the prosecutor has to prove that you knew you were writing a fraudulent check. This is why most businesses don’t file charges for a small check. It’s easy to not realize you were $5 or $10 short when you wrote the check.

If you accidentally bounce a check, the best way to handle the situation is by apologizing and working to resolve the matter as quickly as possible.

 

The Difference Between A Juvenile And An Adult

The Difference Between A Juvenile And An Adult

It’s difficult to keep track of the number of times someone on a procedural show struggles to figure out if a young person should be charged as an adult or as a juvenile. Considering how many times television shows and movies use the conundrum as a plot device, it’s easy to fall into the habit of assuming that the California legal system routinely grapples with the same issue.

While there are cases where a prosecutor isn’t sure if they should charge someone as a juvenile or an adult, in most situations, the answer is clear.

In most cases, anyone who is under the age of 14 can not be charged as an adult. If a suspect is over the age of fourteen, but not yet eighteen, there are situations where they will face adult charges. The state has already laid out these situations.

Situations where a minor who is over the age of 14 can be charged as an adult include:

  • Attempted murder
  • Arson (that involves bodily harm or a building that’s inhabited, death)
  • Assault with a firearm
  • Carjacking
  • Discharging a gun into an inhabited building
  • Drive-by-shooting
  • Manufacturing/distributing/selling half an ounce or more of a controlled substance
  • Murder
  • Rape that involves threatening violence
  • Robbery
  • Sodomy involving lack of consent and bodily harm/threat of violence
  • Performing a lewd or lascivious act on a child who is under 14
  • Oral copulation involving lack of consent and bodily harm/threat of violence
  • Kidnapping for ransom
  • Kidnapping for robbery
  • Kidnapping for sexual assault
  • Kidnapping that involves bodily harm/threat of violence
  • Violating Section 1203.09 of the Penal Code
  • Violent felony acts that violate Penal Code 186.22(b)
  • Torture
  • Aggravated mayhem
  • Voluntary manslaughter

For the between 14 & 17-year-old suspect to be charged as an adult, the prosecutor must prove that the suspect was the one who actually committed the crimes. They can’t have merely been involved with the situation.

The worst thing about a minor getting charged as an adult for a serious crime is that they can’t use their age to obtain a more lenient sentence. Once the decision has been made to charge the minor as an adult, the young suspect faces the same type of sentencing older suspects face. In the case of serious felonies, this could include life in prison with the possibility of parole.

While the idea of charging someone as young as fifteen for an adult crime, like murder, might seem harsh. The hope is that knowing they could be charged as an adult and face severe consequences will discourage kids from attempting some extremely serious crimes and ruining their lives forever.

 

Choosing A Good Bail Bond Company

Choosing A Good Bail Bond Company

When you need help covering your bail, you don’t want to deal with some fly-by-the-night bail bond company who will take your money and disappear. You want to work with a family-owned company that will help you through this difficult time.

The problem is that if you have never been arrested, it’s difficult to know which bail bond company you should choose. The good news is that there are some things you can look for that will help you make the right decision.

Ask For Recommendations

Yes, you want to get out of jail as quickly as possible, but that doesn’t mean you should call the number that is scratched into the wall of your cell. You want to deal with a reputable California bail bond company. Instead of asking your fellow inmates for suggestions, talk to the people who knows. Your lawyer should have a few names. The detention officers should also be able to provide a few bail bond companies they like working with.

Look For A Bail Bond Company With A History

Bail bond companies that have been serving California for several years are usually your best bet. The fact that they have been around for decades indicates that they are fair and legit. They also have the knowledge and connections needed to quickly secure your release from jail.

Demand Excellent Customer Service

When you contact a bail bond company, you shouldn’t get the impression that they’re not concerned about your well-being. Remember, you’re the customer. They should treat you as such. The person you speak to when you initially contact the bail company should provide you with some basic information about the business, answer any bail-related questions you have, and give you the impression that they are working with you. You shouldn’t feel pressured to sign with them. They should invite you to take your time so you can consider all of your options.

Why You Should Consider Our Services

Bail Bonds in Martinez is a family-owned bail bond company in California that has been helping people with bail since 1987. We can help you too!

Our services include:

  • 24/7 Bail Bond Service
  • FREE Consultation
  • 20% Discount
  • 0% Interest Payment Plans
  • Over the Phone Approvals
  • No Hidden Fees
  • No Collateral with Working Co-Signer
  • Easy to Understand Contracts
  • Discrete Service
  • Se habla Español

If you or someone you know needs fast, reliable, and affordable bail bond service that you can truly trust, it is in your best interest to contact Bail Bonds in Martinez. With us on your side, you can rest easy knowing you’re in good hands.

Bail help is only a phone call away at Bail Bonds in Martinez, call 925-228-5858 or click Talk To An Agent Now to chat.