What To Do When Moving To A Different State

When Moving To A Different State Martinez

The rule is the same whenever a person moves to a different state. If a person decide to live in another state permanently, they will need to check in with the DMV to take care of a few changes, like driver’s license and car registration. If they do not do this, they risk being cited by the police if and when they are caught.

If you have a friend or a family member moving to California permanently, they will need to get their license or identification card updated with a new local address within 10 days of moving. If there is a teenager who currently has a driver’s permit, this will also need to be updated. It is a good idea for your loved one to get familiarized with our driving and safety laws, because not all driving laws are the same in each state. For example, turning right on a red light is legal here in California, but it might not have been allowed in the state where they came from. Where they came from, maybe they were allowed to use their phone while driving, but here in California, it is against the law.

Your loved one will need to register their vehicle within 20 days of establishing their California residency. In order to do this, they must have valid car insurance. They are also required to get a smog and emissions inspection for the vehicle.

A person can be cited and ticketed if a police officer discovers that they have been living here in California and driving around with their old license and registration. Even if the old license has a later expiration date, it is not valid here in California because they are now supposed to hold a California driver’s license. For more information on California relocation requirements, visit your local DMV or go to their website.

There’s No Reason To Drink And Drive

Dont Drink And Drive Martinez

What are your plans these summer? Whatever you tell us, it better not include driving yourself or others while being intoxicated after a party or after going to a club. Even though in the past, you may have driven while intoxicated. You need to get into the habit of not getting behind the wheel after having a drink. There is no excuse anymore!

There are so many safer transportation options at your disposal. You can designate a sober driver. You can arrange for a friend or family member to pick you up. You can walk, if the distance to your next destination is short enough. You can take public transportation as long as you are still composed and collected. You can call a taxi, Uber, or Lyft. In fact, you can sometimes even call the police to take you home.

A first-time DUI can be as much as $50,000, on average. For repeat offenses, that price goes way up. You are paying for increased insurance, license reinstatement, legal fees, vehicle impound fees, and a driver’s course. This $50,000 does not even factor in vehicle or property damages and medical bills for those who suffer injury or death. Plus, that is only the financial consequence of a DUI. You also will have emotional consequences and time consequences, meaning you will have to spend time away from work and family to appear in court, attend driver’s classes, and more.

Think of it this way: would you rather pay $50,000 for a DUI because you made a poor, irresponsible decision to drive while intoxicated or would you rather pay a few dollars for an Uber ride? Obviously the latter is the more attractive pick. Besides, since you are leaving it up to a sober individual to drive you home, you can treat yourself to another drink to end the night before heading home safely.

This summer, we know you are probably going to go out and have some drinks with friends. Make sure ahead of time that everyone has a plan to get home safely. We are pretty sure the police would rather not have to pull you over and Concord Bail Bond Store, would rather not have to answer your call for a plea for a bail bond. Yet, you know we will without hesitation.

In case you need a bail bond for yourself or a loved one, you can reach Concord Bail Bond Store online by chat or by phone at 925-228-5858.

What Is Petty Theft?

What Is Petty Theft Martinez

Everyone understands the concept of theft and how bad it is. However, once law enforcement gets involved, it can get confusing for many people not familiar with their terminology. Law enforcement officers have many different phrases and terms for different crimes. These terms help the officers identify the severity of crime and many other factors. For civilians, these terms can be confusing.

One such term would be petty theft. Most people understand it means something was stolen, but we do not know the specifics. We do not even know the severity of the punishment for petty theft.

In the state of California, petty theft is defined as the unlawful taking of property that is valued at $950 or less.

This is different than shoplifting, for example, since shoplifting can only happen in a commercial establishment when it is open for business.

There are 4 different crimes that can lead to petty theft charges:

  • THEFT BY LARCENY
    This makes up most cases of petty theft and is probably what most people think of when they think of theft. This is simply taking someone else’s property without their permission with the intent of keeping it for yourself.
  • THEFT BY FALSE PRETENSE
    This is when a person gives ownership of an item to another person temporarily due to false information that was given by the thief.
  • THEFT BY TRICK
    This is when a person lends an item to a person who has no intention of returning the item. This is similar to theft by false pretense except in this instance, the property owner never intended for the thief to have ownership. This could be as simple as borrowing an item from someone and promising to return it without intending to actually return it.
  • THEFT BY EMBEZZLEMENT
    This occurs when the owner of the property gives a person the property because he or she trusts that person will take care of it. An example would be when someone takes money out of an account that they manage for a company.

 

All of these can be classified as petty theft as long as the value of the stolen property is under $950.

Petty theft is a misdemeanor crime in California and is punishable by a maximum of 6 months in county jail, and/or a maximum fine of $1,000.

When Can You Turn The Police Away?

Martinez Bail Bonds

Not enough people in the United States know their rights when it comes to police searches and seizures, and this is a problem. Some people get so intimidated around the police, even if they did nothing wrong. Others just do not know if and when police are overstepping their authority. There are certain rights people have that protect them, even against the police, such as when to say “no” to a police search.

Law enforcement officers do not always have the right to conduct a search.

First, the police must have reasonable suspicion that a crime has occurred or will occur. If they ask to search a person, his or her belongings and/or his or her home or vehicle, the person can deny the police. Then, the police must get a search warrant from a judge in order to move forward. They cannot conduct the search without this warrant.

A search warrant will specifically list persons, items, and locations.

Whatever is listed on the warrant is allowed to be searched. If, for example, a bedroom is not listed on the search warrant, but the bathroom is, then the police cannot search in the bedroom. However, if an officer finds guns, for example, while conducting their legal search, and guns are not listed on the warrant, the officer is allowed to seize these items.

In recent years, the discussion of needing a search warrant has come up frequently when it comes to social media profiles and digital devices like cell phones and laptops. Since these are personal items that hold personal and private information, the police needs a warrant to search and seize these items, unless the original owner grants the officers a search without one. Officers also need a search warrant to look through someone’s social media profile. Like with other searches, they still need reasonable suspicion in order to even begin the search and seizure process.

Having the right to deny a search is a right that protects a person.

Though a person cannot deny a search if the police come back with a search warrant, they continue to have rights down the line if matters get worse for them. For example, if they are arrested, they have the right to remain silent, the right to a lawyer, and the right to post bail. Even if it seems like the odds are stacked against a person, it is always important and beneficial to exercise rights as much as possible.

Fines For Misusing Drones

Martinez Bail Bonds

Drone flying can be fun, but drones are not toys. Anyone who flies a drone must do so within the rules and regulations set by the FAA. Even if a person is not intentionally flying their drone in violation of the restrictions is no excuse. Not knowing the rules to drone usage will not prevent you from paying a fine if caught.

Here are some past instances where a person was mishandling the operation of their drone and was forced to pay a fine as a result.

Tuscaloosa, Alabama, November 2015
Gregory Taylor was flying his drone over the Bryant Denny Football stadium during tailgating when it hit a pedestrian. He turned himself in and was fined $1,100.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, October 2015
Two drones collided in midair and crashed into the ocean. Both Marcos Plaja-Ferreira and Alberto Haber-flores were each fined $1,100 because of damage to a nearby hotel.

Washington DC, May 2015
It is illegal to fly drones within 30 miles of DC, unless the person has special permission from the government. Damian Dizard and Monica Singleton did not have special permission when they flew their drone within the restricted area. They were fined $3,300 each.

Manhattan, New York, July 2014
A police helicopter chased after a drone that was flying too close to the George Washington Bridge. The NYPD initially reported that the helicopter had to perform evasive maneuvers to avoid colliding with the drone but as it turns out, they embellished this story. As a result, the drone operator, Remy Castro, had his $1,600 fine reduced to $800.

Manhattan, New York, September 2013
David Zablidowski, the first person to ever be fined for flying a drone, flew his drone into several buildings. He was fined $2,200 but his case was settled for $400.
 
Owning and operating a private or commercial drone requires maturity to do so within the laws. If you or someone you know owns a drone, make sure you are well read with what is and is not allowed. You definitely do not want to get police attention or be fined a few thousand dollars.

About California’s Three Strikes Law

Martinez Bail Bonds

California has a so-called “Three Strikes” Law that was introduced in 1994. Think of this like the “three strikes, you are out” mantra that goes with baseball. A player has 3 chances to hit the ball. If they get three strikes, they are out.


The Three Strikes Law concerns convicted felons. If a convicted felon commits a new felony, they are sentenced to twice the prison time than what they would have faced if they had not been previously convicted of any crimes. If the felon has two felonies and faces a third conviction, the Three Strikes Law kicks into automatically sentencing them to 25 years to life in prison.


Since 1994, the Three Strikes law has been amended multiple times to be as fair as possible. Years before, someone who was convicted of shoplifting could get the same prison sentence a murderer would get. It was this kind of unfairness that needed attention, so the law re-evaluated the types of felonies that would be affected by three strikes. Today, all three felony convictions would need to be serious or violent in order for the Three Strikes law to move into effect.

There is a slim chance that a person being charged for a serious or violent felony will be allowed to post bail, and the chances get even slimmer if they are a repeat offender. Since bail eligibility is partially dependent on the condition of the defendant and the danger they pose to the public, it is unlikely that the judge will grant bail release. If they do, expect bail to be very high and expect there to be extra requirements such as curfew, travel restrictions, and ankle monitoring.

If you know anyone who does need a bail bond because they have the opportunity to post bail, regardless of the crime they are being charged with, please contact Martinez Bail Bond Store. We offer 24/7 bail service, FREE consultation, and much more. Call us anytime!

No Exceptions To Underage Drinking

Even if it happens under your roof and under your supervision, underage drinking is illegal in California.

Martinez Bail Bonds

The minimum drinking age across the United States is 21, but there are some states that allow exceptions to this rule when teens are drinking in the presence of, and with the permission of their parents. Some of those states include Virginia, South Carolina, and New Mexico. California is excluded from this list, meaning that even if a parent gives their 20 year old a sip of their cocktail, they can get in trouble.

In California, supplying a minor with alcohol is most often a misdemeanor offense. Adults who are charged with this misdemeanor will face time in jail, up to 1 year, though it is usually less than 2 months. They will also pay a fine of no more than $5,000, but fines between $500 and $1,000 are more common. There will be a court fee of $100-$200, and they could be placed on probation. Probation requirements would vary; it could be that the person just needs to check in with a probation officer every now and then or they may need to maintain a steady job. If it was a business that supplied alcohol to a minor, that business can lose its alcohol license and they would have additional fees to pay.

If someone is seriously injured or killed as a direct result of underage drinking, then the charges are brought up to a felony offense. In this case, consequences include 1+ years in prison, thousands of dollars in fines, probation, and again, a lost liquor license if applicable.

You cannot expect the court to be forgiving if a parent supplies alcohol to their child. There is just no way of knowing if the judge will be kind or not. Everybody knows the minimum drinking age is 21 and that there are no exceptions to this rule. Due to this law, there is no reason a parent should give alcohol to their underage children.

The Very Serious Consequences Of Hazing

Martinez Bail Bonds

Hazing is an initiation ritual or practice that happens most notoriously with college fraternities, school sports teams, or other clubs and organizations. In order for prospective members to be initiated into the fraternity, the existing members will have them complete certain tasks that are humiliating and sometimes dangerous. At times, the prospective members will also have to drink copious amounts of alcohol. If they fail to complete the tasks, they will lose their chance to become a part of the organization.

Hazing officially became a crime in California in 2006 when a 21 year old college student died at California State University, Chico, after being forced to drink huge amounts of water and perform many tiring exercises in the cold. At the same time, the fraternity members were dousing him with water. There have been numerous hazing crimes since then, and a more recent one that has caught national news is the death of a young man at Penn State. The man, who’s BAC at the time of his death was well over the legal limit, fell down stairs. For the next 12 hours, he was in and out of consciousness and constantly falling over and hitting his head. Fraternity members neglected to call 911. Instead they continued to shrug off the possibility that he needed medical attention. The 18 members of the fraternity are being charged with multiple penalties and the fraternity has been banned from the university.


In California, a person can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony if hazing resulted in serious injury or death. The charge will be determined based on the facts of the case and the defendant’s criminal history. If it is a misdemeanor, the defendant faces up to 1 year in jail. If it is a felony, the defendant faces up to 3 years in prison. If a defendant is charged with additional related crimes like forced sexual penetration or assault and battery, they can get extra time in jail tacked on.

In addition to legal consequences, the defendant faces other consequences like getting expelled from school, getting their fraternity banned from the university, damaging their reputation, severing relationships with friends, and damaging their conscience knowing they participated in events that led to someone’s serious injuries or death.


Hazing is not condoned on college campuses in California or the rest of the United States. It is illegal here and in the majority of other states. If you see it happening, speak up to the authorities before someone else, even yourself, gets seriously hurt or in trouble. You can save a life of a victim and the life of someone who would otherwise face very harsh consequences.

Dear Drones: The Sky Is Not The Limit

Martinez Bail Bonds

When it comes to drones, the sky is not the limit anymore. In fact, it has not been for quite some time now. The discussion of drone usage and laws has largely died down, but we think it is appropriate to revisit and go over the laws again. This even more important now that we are approaching fire season again. A few weeks ago a brush fire broke out in Riverside; the firefighters had to temporarily halt their aircraft to spray water from the air because of drones in the area. To avoid having to stall emergencies like these, there are certain drone usage rules set in place for both commercial and private usage. Some laws overlap, while others apply to one or the other.


  • Drones must be registered with the FAA.
  • Drones must be flying within eyesight at all times, may not fly higher than 400 feet, and may not fly faster than 100 mph.
  • Drones may only be used during the day.
  • Unless given permission, a drone may not be flown over other individuals and their private property.
  • If a drone is carrying a package, the combined weight of the package and the drone must be under 55 pounds.
  • People need a pilot’s license to fly a commercial drone or have passed an aeronautical knowledge test and a background check at an FAA-approved facility.
  • If a business sees the need to use their drone in ways that would go against the standard regulations, they may apply for a waiver from the FAA.
  • Drones may not fly near airports and must not interfere with manned aircraft operations such as police or fire helicopters that are in active duty.

There are other rules and regulations for drone flying, in addition to those mentioned above. Anyone caught violating any of the laws will generally face a misdemeanor and the fine can be a few hundred to a few thousand, depending on the situation. Consequences can get worse if drones are intentionally flown to stall emergency operations, such as the need to put out a spreading wildfire. The longer firefighters are stalled, the bigger the fire gets, the more damage it does and more resources are wasted.

Simply put: the sky is not the limit when it comes to drone usage.

How Much Is One Serving Of Alcohol?

How Much Is One Serving Of Alcohol

The countdown to summer break has begun, leaving students and families eager to get away from school and work in order to have some fun. These long hot days and warm nights bring some of the best memories each year. Admittedly, alcohol has a big part in that because it allows everyone to relax and loosen up. Moreover, if there is no work, school, or another obligation to attend to the next morning, the alcohol will keep flowing. With that being said, the alcohol consumption should only go so far. Each individual should know when to say no to a drink.

The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in California is 0.08%.

It does not take the same amount of drinks for everyone to reach that level. How much alcohol has an effect on someone depends on a large number of factors. Person A can have 3 drinks, be at 0.04%, and feel extremely drunk. Meanwhile Person B can have 5 drinks, be at 0.07% and still be much more coherent and aware than Person A.

BAC can depend on gender, body weight and built, the number of drinks consumed, the types of drinks consumed, whether or not a person has eaten, any medications they might be taking, and more.

Generally, women feel the effects of alcohol much faster than men, and smaller body types will feel the effects faster than bigger body types will. If a person has food in their stomach, that will help soak up some alcohol. Conversely, if they are drinking on an empty stomach, they will get drunk faster.

When it comes to determining what one serving of alcohol means, it depends on the type of drink you want to look at. As a general rule, one serving of alcohol equals 1 oz. of 100 proof liquor, a 12 oz. beer, or 4 oz. wine. A 12 oz. beer is much more liquid volume than a glass of wine, but the servings are considered equal. 3 glasses of 4 oz. wine each, 12 oz. total, is theoretically 3 times the serving of a 12 oz. beer.

We mentioned that the legal BAC limit in California is 0.08%, yet many people are drunk well before this limit. If a cop pulls a person over and they blow a 0.05%, they can and will still arrest them for a DUI, especially if they do not appear coherent and alert enough to drive safely. There is never a good reason to drink and drive. The risks are far too dangerous for this person and others on the road. At the same time, even if a person is not driving and is relying on a designated sober driver, they should still know when to stop drinking. Alcohol lowers inhibitions and the ability to make safe and sound decisions. People put themselves at risk and vulnerability when they drink. It is just a precaution to know how much is too much.